HSRC Board

The Board of the HSRC refers to the group of up to ten people, including a Chairperson, appointed for a period of four years by the Minister of Science and Technology. Appointees have distinguished themselves in the field of the human sciences or possess special qualifications in relation to some aspect of the functions of the Board. The Board appoints the Chief Executive Officer of the HSRC and s/he serves as a further, ex officio member. The Board is the accounting authority of the organisation for purposes of the Public Finance Management Act.

Members of the HSRC Board: November 2013 to October 2017

Mrs Nasima Badsha
MSc University of Natal
Chief Executive Officer of the Cape Higher Education Consortium (CHEC).  Previous positions held include: Deputy Director General in the former Department of Education (1997-2006); Advisor to Minister of Education (2006-2009); and Advisor to Minister of Science & Technology (2009-2012).  She was a member of the National Commission on Higher Education and has served on the Council on Higher Education and Board of the National Student Financial Aid Scheme.  Currently on the boards of TENET, Learning Trust and Institute for Justice and Reconciliation.

Prof. Lulama Qalinge
PhD, North-West University (NWU)
Professor and Head of Department of Social Work, University of South Africa (UNISA). Former  acting dean of the Faculty of Human and Social Sciences and director of the School of Social Sciences; North West University, (Mafikeng Campus). Former member of the Institutional Forum (NWU). Board  member   of  Lesotho Highlands Development Authority and serving in the sustainable development subcommittee. Board member of the Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA).

Prof. Amanda Lourens
PhD, University of Pretoria
Vice-rector: Research and Planning at North-West University (Potchefstroom Campus)  Member of the National Research Foundation THRIP Advisory Board and the Higher Education South Africa (HESA) Research and Innovation Strategy Group. Appointed on the Ministerial Committee for the Development of a National Integrated Cyber-Infrastructure System (NICIS).  Past president of the Southern African Research and Innovation Management Association and the South African Statistical Association.  Past chairperson  of the Southern African Association for Institutional Research.

Dr Botlhale Tema
PhD, University of Reading (UK)
Managing director: African Creative Connections, member of the Advisory Panel of the Network for the Coordination and Advancement of Sub-Saharan Africa EU Science and Technology, chairperson of the Board of Programme for Technological Careers, former ex-officio member of the AU Steering Committees on Education, Science and Technology, ICT and the Youth Programme, former ex-officio member of the South African National Commission of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO).

Prof. Adebayo Olukoshi
Director, United Nations African Institute for Economic Development and Planning (IDEP) and Interim executive director, Africa Governance Institute (AGI), both at Dakar and Senegal. Prof of International Economic Relations and former executive secretary, CODESRIA. Previously served as director of research at the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs, senior research fellow/Research programme coordinator at the Nordic Africa Institute and a senior programme staff at the South Centre in Geneva.

Prof. Relebohile Moletsane
PhD, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN, USA
Professor and John Langalibalele Dube Chair in Rural Education, College of Humanities, University of KwaZulu-Natal. Member of the UMALUSI Council.  Member of  Editorial Committee and Board of Agenda Feminist Media Project.

Prof. Shireen Hassim
PhD, York University (UK)
Professor of Political Studies, author of Women’s Organizations and Democracy in South Africa: Contesting Authority (2006), which won the 2007 American Political Science Association’s Victoria Shuck Award for best book on women and politics.  She is co-editor of several other books. Her current research projects are a) a history of family and state in South Africa and b) the ways in which bodies are invested as the sites of demarcating the boundaries of power in postapartheid South Africa.
Prof. Hassim sits on the editorial boards of a number of international journals. She is a member of the ASSAf Standing Committee on the Humanities, and the Research Advisory Committee of the United Nations’ Flagship Report on the Progress of the World’s Women. She is also an international research advisor to the project Gendering Institutional Change, based at the University of Manchester. She has been a member of Senate of the University of the Witwatersrand for five years, was elected by Senate to the Council of the University of the Witwatersrand and is the Assistant Dean (Research) in the Faculty of Humanities.

Advocate Roshan Dehal
Advocate of the High Court of SA , B.PROC, LLB, Certificate in CONSTITUTIONAL LITIGATION; LLM (International Arbitration & Trade Law - yet to complete); Maritime Law Certificate (UKZN). A Human Rights and Litigation Lawyer in practice for over 35 years. Commissioner of the Small Claims Court since October 1996.
Has served on the Estate Agency Affairs Board (EAAB), South African Council for Social Services Professions (SACSSP), Africa Institute of SA (AISA), South African Civil Aviations Authority (SACAA), IZIKO Museum, National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF), Appeals Board of the Medical Schemes Council; and Assessor of HPCSA.
Several leading Community Awards of Distinction received from several Centres in S.A., India, UK, and Asia. Youngest Admitted Attorney (at age 22 in 1979).  Several Liberation Struggle Awards for successfully defending/prosecuting human rights matters, especially in the dark days of apartheid and as a previously disadvantaged lawyer.

Prof. Mark Bussin
Chairperson of 21st Century Pay solutions Group, Professor at University of Johannesburg and Professor Extraordinaire at North West University.
Commissioner in the Presidency as a member of the Independent Commission for the Remuneration of Public Office Bearers. Chairperson and member of various boards and remuneration committees. Immediate past President and EXCO member of South African Reward Association.
Author: The Remuneration Handbook for Africa; The Performance Management Handbook for Emerging Markets; The Performance Management Handbook for Government, SOEs, Universities, Schools and NPOs.

Prof. Crain Soudien (HSRC CEO)
PhD Ed, State University of New York at Buffalo
HSRC CEO; former Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the University of Cape Town (UCT). He remains a professor in the School of Education at UCT. Prof. Soudien's areas of research interest include: social difference, culture, education policy, comparative education, educational change, public history and popular culture. Prof Soudien’s publication record spans the authoring and co-authoring of more than 180 articles, reviews, reports, and book chapters. His most recent work, published in Pedagogy, Culture & Society, draws on intentionality systems theory to begin a discussion about the relationship between the act of violence and thinking.