Research entities

Global HIV Prevention Working Group (PWG)
PWG is an international panel of more than 50 leading public health experts, clinicians, biomedical and behavioural researchers, advocates and people affected by HIV/AIDS, convened by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation.

National Research Foundation (NRF)
The NRF's task is to advance research in all fields of the humanities, social and natural sciences, engineering, and technology; including indigenous knowledge.

Medical Research Council (MRC)
The MRC was set up to improve the nation's health status and quality of life through relevant and excellent health research aimed at promoting equity and development.

Mintek is South Africa’s national mineral research organisation and it is one of the world’s leading technology organisations specialising in mineral processing, extractive metallurgy and related areas. Working closely with industry and other R&D institutions, Mintek provides service testwork, process development and optimisation, consulting and innovative products to clients worldwide.

South Africa-Netherlands Research Programme on Alternatives in Development (SANPAD) is a unique collaborative research programme that funds high quality, collaborative research by South African researchers in association with Dutch researchers.

The Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)is committed to supporting innovation in South Africa in order to improve national competitiveness in the global economy.

The Southern African Association for Institutional Research (SAAIR)
is a dynamic association with the vision of promoting institutional research, training and development.

The South African Agency for Science and Technology Advancement (SAASTA) aims to advance public awareness, appreciation and engagement of science, engineering and technology in South Africa. 

South African Bureau of Standards
tests products for customers to check compliance with National Standards, as well as certify products and services, providing assurance of quality and safety. 

The Africa Institute of South Africa
focuses primarily on political, socio- economic, international and development issues in contemporary Africa. AISA has now been physically incorporated into the HSRC. AISA staff moved to their new offices on Monday 2 June 2014, at the HSRC building in Pretoria. Read the announcement: The Africa Institute of South Africa moves to new home at the HSRC.

The South African Association for Research and Development in Higher Education (SAARDHE) is a national association which strives to promote contact between educationists in higher education from all sectors of the South African society and further afield.

The Centre For Development And Enterprise (CDE) is one of South Africa's leading development think tanks, focusing on critical national development issues and their relationship to economic growth and democratic consolidation.

The Technology and Human Resources for Industry Programme (THRIP) aims to boost South African industry by supporting research and technology development.

Southern African Regional Poverty Network (SARPN) is a non-profit organisation that promotes debate and knowledge sharing on poverty reduction processes and experiences in Southern Africa. SARPN aims to contribute towards effective reduction of poverty in the countries of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) through creating platforms for effective pro-poor policy, strategy and practice.

The South African Council on Higher Education (CHE) is an independent statutory body tasked with advising the Minister of Education on all matters related to higher education policy issues.

The Department of Science and Technology (DST) the National Department to which the HSRC reports.

Spatial Temporal Evidence for Planning (STEP SA) is an initiative in support of integrated development planning across sectors and scales, funded by DST.

Universities and Government Departments

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

North West University

Rhodes University

University of Cape Town

University of Fort Hare   

University of Johannesburg

University of KwaZulu-Natal  

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State 

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Venda

University of Western Cape

University of Zululand

Walter Sisulu University

Government departments

Link here to main listing

Some of our partners

The HSRC is part of an exciting knowledge exchange programme with Latin America funded by DFID. The initiative is called Evidence and Lessons from Latin America (ELLA) , a knowledge sharing, learning and networking platform on selected economic, environmental and governance issues.

Options for Health is a risk reduction intervention for HIV positive people on ARVs, and it has been designed for use in health care settings.

Global Child Development Group using scientific evidence to promote optimal child development, with a focus on children under age 5, in low and middle income countries.

loveLife  is South Africa's largest national HIV prevention initiative for young people. They combine a sustained high-powered campaign with nationwide community-level outreach and support programmes to promote healthy, HIV-free living among teens.

Independent Commissioners

The Commission on Gender Equality is one of the six State Institutions Supporting Constitutional Democracy called for in the 1996 Constitution.

The South African Human Rights Commission is a national institution established to entrench constitutional democracy through the promotion and protection of human rights.

The Independent Electoral Commission is a permanent body created by the Constitution to promote and safeguard democracy in South Africa.

The Public Service Commission is an independent and impartial body created by the Constitution to enhance excellence in governance within the public service by promoting a professional and ethical environment.

The South African Law Reform Commission The Competition Commission is a statutory body empowered to investigate, control and evaluate restrictive business practices, abuse of dominant positions and mergers in order to achieve equity and efficiency in the South African economy.

The Financial and Fiscal Commission is a statutory institution. It is a permanent expert commission with a constitutionally defined structure, set of generic responsibilities and institutional processes, dealing with intergovernmental fiscal relations in South Africa.

The Western Cape Cultural Commission is mandated  to preserve, promote and develop culture in the Province in accordance with a policy determined by the Provincial Minister of Cultural Affairs, Sport and Recreation.