South African BRICS Think Tank (SABTT)

The South African BRICS Think Tank (SABTT) was established through a decision by the South African Cabinet in 2012 to appoint the HSRC as incubator of the national BRICS think tank until the establishment of a permanent body.  This was followed by the setting up of the BRICS Think Tanks Council (BTTC) at the 5th BRICS Summit in March 2013 in eThekwini.

This decision allowed the SABTT to take its place alongside the other four think tanks in a formally constituted body that seeks to:

  • provide strategic inputs, especially policy advice, to the leaders of BRICS
  • coordinate research within and across the five countries; and
  • steer the activities of the five think tanks.

The SABTT consists of:

  • A steering committee comprising officials of the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Department of International Relations and Cooperation (DIRCO) and senior management of the HSRC
  • The HSRC BRICS Secretariat, comprising management and research staff of the HSRC
  • Universities, represented by Higher Education South Africa (HESA), and
  • The BRICS Research Centre within the HSRC, dedicated to research on BRICS.

Please access the official SA BRICS Think Tank website here, to keep abreast of new SABTT information and activities.