ISSP 2015 Annual Meeting

International surveys body to meet in South Africa

Benjamin Roberts and Jarè Struwig, organisers of the ISSP meeting.

The Democracy, Governance and Service Delivery programme at the HSRC will host the International Social Surveys Programme, a continuing annual programme of cross-national collaboration on surveys covering topics of importance to social science research, from 25 to 29 April 2015 in Cape Town.

This meeting will coincide with the celebration of South Africa’s democracy coming of age on 27 April 2015, allowing South Africa to share this historic event with eminent social researchers from almost 50 other countries around the globe. In addition, the ISSP module that will be discussed during this meeting will be the role of government, which makes the hosting of this event by South Africa even more relevant.

The ISSP brings together pre-existing social science projects and co-ordinates research goals, thereby adding a cross-national, cross-cultural perspective to individual national studies.

ISSP researchers concentrate on developing questions that are meaningful and relevant to all countries, and can be expressed in an equivalent manner in all relevant languages.

Research organisations from the various countries that become members of the ISSP are carefully selected and need to prove their ability to ensure robust methodological rigour.

South Africa became a member through the South African Social Attitudes Survey (SASAS), a flagship project of the HSRC. By being a member of this long-standing, cross-national collaborative programme, SASAS has been able to add an international perspective to the national study of South African attitudes. This has allowed the HSRC to continually question whether the South African society is exceptional by identifying commonalities and differences in values with other nations. Many proposals, review articles and peer reviewed articles have been written using comparative data from the ISSP.

Caption: The beautiful city of Cape Town. Photo by 2010 FIFA World Cup Organising Committee South Africa. Some rights reserved.